• Home
  • About
  • The National Archival & Library Institutions (NALI) Ministerial Group

The National Archival & Library Institutions (NALI) Ministerial Group

A Ministerial Group was formed in June 2018 with the intention of strengthening the contribution the national archival and library institutions (Ngā Taonga Sound & Vision, Archives New Zealand and National Library) make to the culture and heritage sector, and to open and transparent government.

The group, co-chaired by Associate Minister for the Arts, Culture and Heritage, Minister Robertson, and the Minister of Internal Affairs, Minister Martin, also includes the Minister for State Services, Minister Hipkins, and the Minister for Māori Development, Minister Mahuta.

View the Terms of Reference for the Group.

In August 2018 the Ministerial Group sought feedback from stakeholders over five questions focusing on the challenges and opportunities for the national archival and library institutions as a whole.

Ngā Taonga Sound & Vision consulted with a wide range of its stakeholders and the responses helped shape our contribution to the Ministerial Group’s consultation.

Following the consultation, in December 2018 Ministers Robertson and Martin wrote on behalf of the Ministerial Group acknowledging that ‘the existing arrangements for the institutions cannot continue.’ Workshops hosted by the Chief Archivist and the National Librarian (and involving Ngā Taonga) would continue and ‘further assist [the Ministerial Group] to develop options to enhance the mana of the institutions and facilitate collaboration among them.’

The latest updates are available on the DIA website.

We use cookies to help us understand how you use our site, and make your experience better. To find out more read our privacy policy.

Whakamahia ai mātou ngā pihikete ki te rapu māramatanga ki te āhua o tō whakamahi i tēnei paetukutuku, ki te whakapai hoki i tō whai wāhi mai. Ki te rapu kōrero anō pānuitia te kaupapahere tūmataiti.