Find out more about this item:
Message us

Rights Information

“A visionary boy leads five men from the 14th Century into a 20th Century city. Their quest: to save their village before sunrise.

“It is Cumbria 1348, the year of the Black Death. A medieval mining village lives in fear of the advancing plague. Griffin's older brother Connor returns from the outside world in a state of despair, until Griffin tells of his dream - and reveals the only hope of survival.

“Make a tribute to God. Place a spire on a distant cathedral. Do it before dawn or the village is lost.

“A young boy is afflicted by apocalyptic visions in medieval Cumbria. Believing he is divinely inspired to save his village from the Black Death, he persuades a group of men to follow him into a tunnel. They dig deep into the earth and emerge ... in Auckland, New Zealand, 1987. Following portents, the time travelers must negotiate the terrors of a strange new world, (motorways, nuclear submarines) - while seeking to save their own. Nominated for the Palme d'Or at Cannes, it scooped the gongs at the 1988 AFI and 1989 NZ Film & TV Awards.

“Festival/Awards: In Competition, Cannes.” - New Zealand Film Commission;; 31/01/2014.

Favourite item:

Request information

Year 1988

Reference number F4232

Collection Film and Video Collection

Media type Moving Image


Genre Feature

Duration 1:33:00

Production company John Maynard Productions

Location information

Credits Connor: Bruce Lyons
Cast: Chris Hayward
Cast: Hamish McFarlane
Cast: Marshall Napier
Cast: Noel Appleby
Cast: Paul Livingstone
Cast: Sarah Pierse
Cast: Jay Lavea Laga’aia
Director: Vincent Ward
Producer: John Maynard
Producer: Gary Hannam
Co-Producer: Gary Hannam
Executive Producer: Gary Hannam
Writer: Vincent Ward
Writer: Kely Lyons
Writer: Geoff Chapple
Editor: John Scott
Music: Davood A Tabrizi
Director of Photography: Geoffrey Simpson
Production Designer: Sally Campbell
First Assistant Director: Greg Stitt
Camera: Allen Guilford
Funded By: New Zealand Film Commission

Related Link New Zealand Film Commission