New Trustees Announced

Ngā Taonga Sound & Vision has announced the appointment of four new members to its Board of Trustees.

  • Te Raumawhitu Kupenga – former lawyer and senior executive
  • Whetu Fala – respected producer, director of content, broadcaster and Māori Television board member
  • Emily Loughnan – interactive industry pioneer
  • Lisa Bates, MNZM – culture and art sector governance expert

These appointments follow the retirement of Judith Fyfe, Derek Fox and former Chair Jane Kominik, and the resignation of Peter Douglas, who left to take up a position in the public service. Ms Kominik, Ms Fyfe and Mr Fox had all served two three-year terms on the Ngā Taonga Board. Board Chair, Simon Murdoch welcomed all the new Trustees. “We are very pleased to have attracted Trustees of such high calibre. They will bring to Ngā Taonga a wealth of relevant expertise and experience and, together with current trustee, Edie Moke, ensure we realise our vision and potential as the audiovisual archive for all New Zealanders,” said Mr Murdoch.

Mr Murdoch also thanked the outgoing Trustees for their service to the Archive.  “All four members made an invaluable contribution during their, sometimes very challenging, time on the Board. They served during a period of significant change for Ngā Taonga when a new amalgamated organisation was created from the separate radio, television and film archives. Their strong vision and commitment to the work of the Archive will be missed.”

“I also want to extend a special thank you to Jane Kominik, on behalf of not just the organisation, but everyone who cares about our audiovisual taonga. Jane was elected Chair soon after joining the board in July 2011 and her wise and steady leadership during a time of such dramatic change always inspired confidence that the organisation was heading in the right direction,” said Mr Murdoch.

Ngā Taonga Sound & Vision’s current Trustees and their terms are listed below.

Trustee Term Start Date Term End Date
Simon Murdoch (Chair)  Non-Māori 1 July 2016 30 June 2019
Lisa Bates* Non-Māori 1 January 2018 30 June 2018
Whetu Fala Māori 13 October 2017 30 June 2019
Te Raumawhitu Kupenga Māori 1 July 2017 30 June 2020
Emily Loughnan Non-Māori 1 January 2018 30 June 2020
Edie Moke Māori 1 August 2015 30 June 2018

* Ms Bates was co-opted to the board in July 2017, before the official commencement of her term, to provide expertise in support of the organisation’s fundraising activities. 

We use cookies to help us understand how you use our site, and make your experience better. To find out more read our privacy policy.

Whakamahia ai mātou ngā pihikete ki te rapu māramatanga ki te āhua o tō whakamahi i tēnei paetukutuku, ki te whakapai hoki i tō whai wāhi mai. Ki te rapu kōrero anō pānuitia te kaupapahere tūmataiti.